Estimated reading time: 1 min

ADR stands for Accord Dangereux Routier (European regulations concerning the international transport of dangerous goods by road).  It is a UN treaty concluded in 1957 and updated ever since, according to new rules and regulations in the logistics industry.

ADR is mainly based on two types of regulations:

  1. The regulation of the merchandise content, packaging and labels;
  2. The regulation of the vehicle types used for the transport of hazardous materials.
ADR goods regulations


Hazardous goods are classified under the treaty of ADR. The lists of dangerous goods are sorted by their UN number each subject to specific requirements and regulations. These regulations include some of the important topics such as:

  • Packaging;
  • Limited quantities;
  • Labeling;
  • Conditions of loading, unloading and handling;
  • Vehicle crews, equipment, operation, documentation;
  • Approval of vehicles.
Hazard Classes

Hazard Classes

ADR classification of hazardous goods is as follows:

Class 1

Explosive Substances and Articles

Class 2

Gasses: flammable, non-flammable, non-toxic, toxic

Class 3

Flammable Liquids

Class 4

Flammable solids

Class 5

Oxidizing substances and organic peroxides

Class 6

Toxic and infectious substances

Class 7

Radioactive material

Class 8

Corrosive substances

Class 9

Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles

All drivers of ADR transport are licensed and possess specially equipped vehicles.
Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 69